Testing MarsEdit – Listening to Pete Yorn?

As it a small piece of software is enough to get me off my ass and write instead of talk.

Here’s a try:

I’ve never given Pete Yorn any attention… He was one of those semi-mopey troubador types that wrote mid-tempo songs and covered really good songs in a crappy manner for big-budget animated movies. (He did a Buzzcocks cover for Shrek II. Enough said there).

Anyway… I grabbed this track off a tour-only EP he’s peddling called The Westerns. The song is called The Man and featured Natalie Maines from the Dixie Chicks.

Well, the song is awesome, sounding a lot like one of the better songs from that fellow mid-tempo troubador and Shrek contributor Adam Duritz.

I’m not a big Counting Crows fan, but when Adam is on.. he’s fucking on.

But back to Yorn… I’m now wanting to get the EP and see if it’s all as good as that song, but of course, he’s not playing Detroit.

Ebay has it for 30 bucks. If anyone has it, send me MP3s and I’ll send Pete Yorn $10 paypal. Promise.

Leave a Reply

